Film Outside the Frame 2017 Winners

LMU FOF Camera 791x1024 - Film Outside the Frame 2017 WinnersThe winners of Film Outside the Frame 2017 were honored at this year’s awards show and film festival held at the historic Theatre at the Ace Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles on October 1, 2017. LMU alumnus and Academy Award Winning sound designer Bob Beemer (Dreamgirls, Speed, Gladiator, Ray) was honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award at the ceremony.

We are so proud of all the outstanding student work that was submitted this year, and congratulate each of our nominees and winners! And without further ado, the 2017 Film Outside the Frame Winners.


Cub Award

Dreamweavers (Animators: Alivia Horsley, Christina Yi, Themelina Davila)


Silver Lion Award

Cisza (Director: Ben Glassman)


Golden Lion Award

Iridescence (Director: Rachel Napierkowski)


Student Choice Award

Love, Song (Director: Qingge Hermione Gao)


Best Sound Design

Curiosities of the Quiet Boy (Sound Designers: Matthew Pendleton, Karly Garster)


Ian Conner Award For Best Cinematography

Curiosities of the Quiet Boy (DPs: Matthew Ballard)


Dreier Family Award For Best Editing

Temptation (Editor: Dawson Taylor)


Arkoff Award For Best Produced Screenplay

Abandon (Writers: Varun Chopra, Myles Reid, Producers: Shauna Deleon, Christopher Cranston)

The Off Season (Writer/Producer: Jenna Park)


Best Documentary

Home at Last (Writer/Director/Producer: Yimin Gu)


Best Production Design

Widow (PD: Marisa Stelly)


Best Webisode

The Writers Room: Under Fire (Executive Producer/Writer: Ryan Pawlak, Writer: Sarah Bockian)


Best Original Graduate Screenplay

Strawberry Fields (Writer: Sam McGoldrick)

The Hiding Place (Writer: Stephen Martin)


Best Original Undergraduate Screenplay

Tender (Writer: Zoe Vitale)


Best Original Graduate Pilot or Teleplay

Skin (Writer: Ahleea Zama)


Best Original Undergraduate Pilot or Teleplay

The Republic (Writer: April Pratt)


Faculty Award For Promotion of Social Justice

Human Capital (Director: Ksusha Genenfeld)


Faculty Award For Global Perspective & Intercultural Experiences

Home at Last (Director: Yimin Gu)


Best Animation

On the Rocks (Animators: Kate Gotfredson, Mikey Barreto)


Bernard Abbene Comedy Writing Award (Best Comedy)

YouSuck (Writer: Brennan Gilpatrick, Producers Ryan Pawlak, Elias Ontiveros)


SFTV Dean’s Directing Award

Spring, Orchid (Director: Hengqing Kat Pan)


The James Wong Best Picture Award

Love, Song (Writer/Director/Producer: Qingge Hermione Gao)